A Letter To Kerbala


The letter below was written by a brother who just about missed out to go for Arbaeen in Kerbala.

Dear Kerbala,

I write this letter with utmost grief and sorrow in my heart, and in a state where I can not really seem to forgive myself, simply because I will not be visiting you this time. It has been exactly six months since my first ever visit to you, and you were nothing short of an amazing and very hospitable host.

Kerbala, I remember our first meeting very well, when I descended from the bus to be greeted by the scorching sun and hot air surrounding me, but there was something special in this air, there was a fragrance of heaven that made me forget the heat and fall in love with you immediately. From then on, every step I took with you, I felt special, honored and most of all my heart had finally found the much needed satisfaction I had been looking for over twenty years.

My dear friend, then you made me meet the two holy personalities I have been hearing of every year, the two brave soldiers of Islam and saviour of Humanity, you made me meet Abbas and Husain. O Kerbala, you witnessed my arrival to these two personalities, you stood there to cool me when I cried my heart out as I met Husain and Abbas.

Our farewell was something I never looked forward to, but I was told all good things come to an end, and so did this. However, I remember my promise to Husain and to you O my Friend, that I shall be back with the millions who shall come for Arbaeen, to honor you and show the world how blessed you are; and so did I leave, counting days to come back and meet you.

O heaven on earth, O Kerbala, it is however sad to let you know that our meeting has been postponed for reasons only Allah knows, but Kerbala, please don’t be disappointed, please forgive me for this short coming of mine. I don’t know the reason behind my failure, but maybe I failed in my duties to the Lord, or maybe I didn’t fulfill my obligations to Husain, or maybe I just let down myself.

So Kerbala, I won’t be amongst the millions that will visit you in the coming week, I won’t be amongst the millions who will walk for days just to meet you, I won’t be there to embrace you, nor to see you, but O Kerbala, you are in my heart. O Holy Land, pardon my absence, but make it a reason for my visit in the coming days, because O Land, I am in love with you.

My friend, you have gone through a lot of miseries, problems and difficulties in your life. You were there when Husain was killed, when Abbas’s arms were chopped, when Asgher was struck by a three headed spear and when the caravan was looted. Despite of all this, you have been loyal to the master, you have been an amazing host and are the identity of heaven on earth.

Therefore my friend, I ask you, to host my brothers and sisters coming to visit you, to show them the love, spread within them the aroma and fragrance of heaven, but most of all, O land, make not their meeting with the Master Husain the last, but, one of the many more to come.

O friend, how lucky you are, on you are two holy personalities, to you do millions come every month, and angels descend to yours every hour, so does the Holy Prophet and his progeny, all with nothing but the love and hope to meet and pay respects to Husain, the saviour of humanity.

I shall end this letter O Kerbala, with tears in my eyes, my hands trembling with fear, my body shocked and my heart devastated for missing out the opportunity to meet you once again. However, O lovely friend of mine, I shall be back soon, to visit you and my master Husain.

May you be blessed and loved as always,

Kind regards,

Your devastated friend,

Lover of Husain!

What do you think?

Tag Cloud

